Sweet ’16

It’s a new year, and all of this buzz of resolution and change has given me that push I needed to finally start blogging again.

I have been trying to make a lot of positive changes in my life, especially in the past few months. So, this isn’t just an overnight “Oh, 2016? Better get the ball rolling!” deal for me.

However, it has been inspiring reading from different people all the ways in which they plan to improve their lives and the lives of others this year. I have never been so aware of it before, because this year, it is something that is important to me as well. Anyone can choose to make positive change any moment in any day of the year for themselves, but when you are starting what may seem like a big undertaking, a new year can be very helpful as a jumping off point. In this way, I think a new year is a great marker for making change and helping to put the past behind you.

It is so easy to get stuck in patterns. I am doing everything I can to break out of some negative patterns that I’ve been stuck in for years. I have always naturally been a fairly negativeΒ and anxious person. But I am also a happy and positive person. This “journey”, as I’ll sheepishly call it, is about getting more of those good days out of my life and not depending on anyone but myself for it.

I have never before put forth any real effort into changing. Sure, I’ve thought about it. I’ve had days where I thought I was “getting better”, and days where I thought I was really trying, but I always fell back into old habits. I’ve grown older, but I haven’t grown up. Today, I see that the flaws I see in myself I can choose to change. It just takes a bit of effort, and most importantly, a change of mindset.

There is something to be said about motivating yourself to do something that is out of your comfort zone and sticking to it. There are so many things that are outside of my comfort zone. Sharing stuff like this with, potentially, the world, is definitely one of them! I am so excited and, admittedly, a bit nervous about everything to come this year, but of course I hope to make it as good as it can be.

My hope for this blog is to fill it with writings of my personal experiences as I grow and change my life. I will let myself be open and vulnerable here, and in doing so, gain strength and confidence. I also will share everything I am passionate about, from art and music to fashion, food, and ethical living. I have always loved writing, and think this will be a great vessel for me to not only keep track of change as it happens for me in my life, but also to drive it and never stop moving forward.

If any of this resonated with you, I encourage you to continue reading, and if you’re up to it, leave a comment!

Talk to you soon,

Andrea

Leave a Reply

